HIV Life Cycle

HIV attacks and destroys the CD4 cells of the immune system. CD4 cells are white blood cell that play a key role in protecting the body from infection. HIV procedures the machinery of the CD4 cells to multiply and spread throughout the body. This procedure, which is carried out in seven steps or stages, is called the HIV life cycle.

• Binding

• Fusion

• Reverse transcription

• Integration

• Replication

• Assembly

• Budding